Shifting Frames

What methods of inducing altered states of conscious does your tradition have?

Pondering this question aloud, I said something like, “Well, my current practice doesn’t involve much in the way of trance.” To which Ember quirks one eyebrow. It’s a very eloquent eyebrow. It should have its own sound effect. But I digress…

The point is, I do use trance fairly regularly. It’s just not the formal, high-ritual trance induction that I first learned as a baby witch years back. What I do now–just this past weekend, in fact–is the kind of low-level trance where one doesn’t lose contact with the world, but there’s a sort of other-world overlay. Not so much a visual, like a psychic head-up display, but more a feeling like high air pressure or some just barely sub-sonic vibration. I know it’s there, I feel it, but it’s not focused any one place, except maybe in the head and at the altar.

Inducing that trance is a matter of repetition. A simple chant, over and over. A simple drumbeat, over and over. If there had been room, there would have been a simple dance step, over and over. As it was, I stood in place, rocking back and forth and shaking my thyrsus staff, over and over. Twenty some-odd people, chanting the chant and beating the beat, over and over.

And, a bit of alcohol. This was a devotional for Dionysos, after all. Not much for any one person, not enough for even the lightest lightweight to feel. Just take a sip from the bottle and pass it on, even a small amount can be a cue that consciousness is changing, that it’s time to swap the grounded-in-reality eyes for the other-world-eyes.

The repetition gives rhythm to a world that’s mostly random noise. The words that are repeated are really only language for the first couple of rounds. For those rounds, they bring images to the conscious mind, identifying the power being called. After, they’re still there, but they’re sinking in, deeper and deeper. They start as words, become pictures, then become feelings. And those feelings set the tone of the vibration that’s not focused any one place, except maybe in the head and at the altar.

The world becomes a bit like fiction, given structure by the repeated rhythms that life doesn’t normally have. Something somewhere between the surface of our skins and the core of our perceptions shifts and folds, psychic origami given structure by the repeated rhythms, a new set of relationships into which to file our perceptions. We’re still in the same house we were, but it is now completely different because everything now relates to every other thing by the structure of the repeated rhythms as well as by what we know of their ordinary-world uses. For just a little while, feelings that are no longer words bind common things into uncommon meanings.

Then, the chant is done, the drum is still, the bottle is empty–I’ve seen to that, personally. People get up, move about, start talking to each other. The ritual part of the evening seems to be coming to a close, and the party part of the evening is getting started. The trance persists, the new rhythm of the world shapes the way people move and talk and feel, for just a little while. Interactions that seem ordinary are completely different because everything now relates to every other thing by the structure of the repeated rhythms.

The point is, I do use trance fairly regularly. It’s just not the overtly ritualized trance of the devotional. I don’t lose contact with the world, I just focus more on one part and less on another. Not visually, but more as a feeling, a change of atmosphere. The filter shifts behind my eyes, focused in my head and at whatever I’m working at.

Inducing this trance is a matter of selective attention. A slight re-arrangement of furniture from one pattern to another. A new playlist on the music box. A shift into a new room, a set of simple tasks repeated day after day.

Pondering this question, while writing, I realized that my whole life involves one form of trance or another. One pattern of relationships or another, giving form to a world that seems like random noise unless one learns to listen for the rhythms.

My lover Ember and I have decided to go through Galina Krasskova’s Devotional Polytheist Meme questions together, over the next several months. We encourage our friends to follow along, and welcome links to other people’s answers in our comments, as well as your thoughts on our answers.
Ember’s answer can be found at her blog, Embervoices.

About Lon Sarver

Lon Sarver is a polytheist priest of Dionysos, living in the San Francisco Bay Area and contemplating (with a healthy amount of dread) making a second attempt at a career in Marriage and Family Therapy. View all posts by Lon Sarver

2 responses to “Shifting Frames

  • worthyadvisor

    It interesting, since I would have quirked an eyebrow at you too. 😉 But I’m there with you: I don’t do the more super formal or super high energy trance work (ie: dancing in circles until I fall over kind of stuff), but it does seem that there are degrees of “there”-ness depending on my situation. Sometimes it’ll sneak up on me and I’ll question whether I’m really in a trance or not until I say something that’s not really something I’d normally say. Or I’ll have small day-dream like trances where I’ll see the future or past. I still, on occasion, do it on purpose or more formally, or with something to help me, but that’s only if I need to do something big and/or fast. Ok..a bit rambly for a Thursday morning, but I get what you mean…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Intellect & Romance

Musings on the Stories We Tell

The Dionysian Artist

Δ, Τέχνη, Λόγος, Λέξις

riverdevora

Spiritual ramblings of a polytheist nature

Tales of the Fox

Musings and Magic From a Silicon Valley Witch

Dany's Blog

In which the blogger rambles about art, Supernatural, and other random junk.

The Green Wolf

Artist & Author Lupa

Pagan Church Lady

How Conveeeeenient!

Walking the Worlds

a biannual journal of polytheism and spiritwork

The Boukoleon

Where the Starry Bull thiasos gathers

Magick From Scratch

Breaking down mystical practice and crafting new ritual tech from primary source texts.

Banshee Arts

Words for the God of Ecstasy

T. Thorn Coyle

Magic. Stories. Justice. Love.

The Green Wolf

Words for the God of Ecstasy

